Get out the eraser

This weekend I thought I would start on actual construction.  First I wanted to do a full-sized elevation and section of the hood. That’s the part that has me a little spooked because it all has to fit just right.  If I make a sizing mistake in that the whole project is a disaster.

So I dusted off (quite literally) the old drafting board and started laying out the hood on paper, cutting little section views and figuring out some things, real sized.  I played around with the hinges too to make sure all that worked out.  Soon I came to the realization that I had screwed something up, making the entire hood too deep when I drew it in AutoCAD.

This all makes me think of my first experiences with drafting, well before PCs.  It was in 8th grade, back when public school students ALL had to take drafting and woodshop – at least where I lived.  I recall being able to sort out the views on the widgets we were to draw with relative ease.  Mr. Wilkerson was the teacher and I recall him showing us how to scratch our back with our t-squares (and the difference between and isometric and orthogonal view).  Later I did more drawing of light plots for school plays and finished my Drafting and (I think) Architecture merit badges.  Then in college I did a number of classes in Scenic Drafting where I really started to understand how to draw.  That’s also when I started learning AutoCAD.  I hardly ever draw by hand any more but I’m thankful I had the experience.  It also frustrates me that schools don’t teach using pencils any more, or so it seems.

I’m also reminded of erasers.  Ctrl-Z (10 times on occasion)  won’t do a bit of good when you are drawing by hand.  When I asked for an electric eraser during college my dad was sure that it was because I made “big mistakes”.  In fact he made a great gag electric eraser that I wish I could find (imagine an electric cord glued into a brown gum eraser).  He thought he was quite clever.  I’m regretting I sold that (actual) electric eraser on eBay.  I had some big mistakes to erase today.

I’ve figured out where I went wrong and I think I have it fixed.  It looks better on the screen.  Sometimes the computer isn’t the best way after all.  God knows the guys that built Willard’s clock cases in the late 18th Century didn’t use any of this stuff.  I’ll draw it up again hopefully tomorrow night and then I’ll know what’s what.

This entry was posted in Projects, Tall Case Clock. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Get out the eraser

  1. Gil Sanow says:

    Your grandfather would be proud of you. I still have the drawing board you built for your dorm loft and even use it myself from time to time. I am certain Tom Myers, your Drafting MB counselor, will get a kick out of this posting. Oh, yes, you did earn Architecture MB too.

Leave a Reply

