Embellishments

I spent some of Labor Day weekend on inlay and embellishment.  I didn’t make as much progress as I hoped.  It was also a weekend to go to the fireworks (soggy…) and King’s Island with the kid (less soggy).

Here is the banding stock, each with slices taken off.

Again I ask, how did the old guys do this.  Masking tape works pretty well as a clamp sometimes.  Actually I know the answer.  They used hot hide glue, so they could hold the piece in place until it cooled.  While I often use hot hide glue I didn’t want to make a batch and try to keep it going all weekend.  I used liquid hide glue as a cop-out.

Laying in grooves for the leg bandings

A shot of the progress so far

Here’s how I lay in the stringing for the face.  You can see the inlay groove cutting tool.

And now the black feet on the tapered legs.  I’ll come back later, after doing the leg stringing and add a cuff banding.  Should look pretty snazzy.

Finally laying in the stringing around the surface of the top:

This entry was posted in Federal Card Table, Projects. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Embellishments

  1. LMCollins says:

    Liquid hide glue? Anytime you don’t want to glue two or more things to stick together, and not be perminantly stuck to something wax paper is your friend. It works with any type of glue. Also, do a test on paste floor wax. Put on a couple thin coats, let it dry, and then buff of the surface with a kleenex. Just leave a thin film layer.

    Just because some darn violin maker did it in 1550 doesn’t mean that better, and newer ways aren’t available today. This isn’t a smoke signal, or written with something from a goose’s butt.

    If Granpa Lenny saw the “Crazy Canadian Woodworker” on Youtube he’d be down at the neighbors getting chunks of old circle saw blades welded to gas pipe, and pounding them into a couple a simple turning tools. He’d have a BIG one piece salad bowl made for each daughter by now. He would have liked the inovation, and carried it to a new viable step rather than a joke. He did use electric saws you know, and they didn’t detract from his craft. They only enabled him to do more better. I bet that the clocks he made after the kit were “improved” to HIS equipment.

    Extemperanious inovation was a part of “getting down the road” all of his life. American ingenuity and progress. Don’t forget your roots. No matter how HE pronounced “roots,” His thoughts would have been preoccupied for days.

    • psanow says:

      You are right, technology is great. I use a lot of it every day. Part of the reason I enjoy woodworking is that I don’t have any tools with video displays. I use my table saw and band saw a lot for roughing out wood to speed things along. My wife will get rid of me before I get rid of my Powermatic table saw. Some woodworkers consider their power tools their “apprentices”. The hand tools are quiet and let me listen to music or the Reds game. I don’t try to make money doing this – it’s for fun and personal satisfaction.

      There are a number of reasons to use hide glue. In fact I would argue there are a number of things that are better than modern PVA glues (which I do use depending on the application):
      1. Longer open time for liquid. Or a short open time if using the hot stuff – then no clamps required.
      2. It doesn’t cause trouble when it’s time to finish. It scrapes off well and is usually invisible under a finish. PVA glues prevent finish from penetrating to the wood, leaving ugly marks. With hide glue I don’t worry so much about squeeze out, which is inevitable with banding and such.
      3. Perhaps most importantly it’s reversible. I can release the glue with heat or water and fix something. If my descendants keep this thing around it could be fixed easily, assuming anyone knows how to use tools in 100 years.
      4. Finally it does fill gaps a bit. PVA glues don’t fill gaps – they rely on a thin film.

      Had Stradivarius built his violins with Titebond III, restorers today would have a hell of a time fixing them. I think PVA glue is great – I have a number of bottles – but it’s not always the answer.

      Yes – wax paper, paste wax and packing tape are my friends when doing glue ups. Nothing worse than the clamp or caul sticking to the work.

      I thought about sending this via Carrier Pigeon but this is easier! Thanks for reading and commenting. Keep it up.

      Paul

      • LMCollins says:

        I have been watching Tommy Mac on “Create.” There’s some neat stuff to be learned and used on various projects. Your doing some really niece looking things. Will enjoy keeping up. I realized that the Mad Canadian Woodworker was not your cup of tea, but thought you might get a laugh ou of him. Don’t know how I found him.

        Some of the Youtube crowd don’t know what they are doing, and therefore are good for a laugh. No editors or fact checkers on Youtube. Have got to raz you via longdistance.
        I still think Granpa Lenny would have gotten a hoot out that clip!

Leave a Reply

